50% Off Downloadable Audiobooks
search results
searching for "Peter Ackroyd": 1 - 30 displayed
Paperback  Paperback  
A fantasy of a man whose portrait bears the marks of age and debauchery while he retains the outward appearance of serenity and youth.
Publication Date: Apr 1986
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
Hardcover  Hardcover  
Charles Dickens was the 19th-century equivalent of a pop superstar and an undisputed genius whose novels have remained enduringly popular. This quiet talk with his ghost (which takes place at...Read More
Publication Date: Mar 2008
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
 
Hardcover  Hardcover  
No description available.
Publication Date: Nov 2008
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
Paperback  Paperback  
As a dense yellow fog swirls through the streets of London, a deep melancholy has descended on Sherlock Holmes, who sits in a cocaine-induced haze at 221B Baker Street. His...Read More
Publication Date: Oct 2001
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
 
Paperback  Paperback  
"Penguin Decades" bring you the novels that helped shape modern Britain. When they were published, some were bestsellers, some were considered scandalous, and others were simply misunderstood. All represent their...Read More
Publication Date: Mar 2010
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
Hardcover  Hardcover  
Heinrich Obermann, a celebrated German archaeologist, has uncovered the ancient ruins of Troy on a Turkish hillside. He fervently believes that his discovery will prove that the heroes of the...Read More
Publication Date: Nov 2007
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
 
Hardcover  Hardcover  
A tour de force in the tradition of Hawksmoor and Chatterton, Peter Ackroyd's new novel of deceit and betrayal is a witty reimagining of a great nineteenth-century Shakespeare forgery. Charles...Read More
Publication Date: Jun 2006
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
Paperback  Paperback  
In 1609, the first edition of Shakespeare’s Sonnets was published, featuring the mysterious dedication: “To Mr W.H.” Ever since, the identity of Mr W.H. has been the subject of a...Read More
Publication Date: Aug 2003
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
 
Paperback  Paperback  
Mary Lamb is confined by the restrictions of domesticity: her father is losing his mind, her mother watchful and hostile. The great solace of her life is her brother Charles,...Read More
Publication Date: Jul 2007
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
Hardcover  Hardcover  
A surprising portrait of Peter Paul Rubens' double life as a secret agent who negotiated a peace between superpowers. When two nineteenth-century Oxford students--Victor Frankenstein, a serious researcher, and the...Read More
Publication Date: Oct 2009
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
 
Paperback  Paperback  
In a now peaceful thirty-eighth-century London, the city's greatest orator, Plato, reflects on the broad sweep of human history, in an inventive novel by the author of The Life of...Read More
Publication Date: Mar 2001
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 1 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
Paperback  Paperback  
Publication Date: Oct 2003
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
 
Hardcover  Hardcover  
From a master historian -- a brilliantly original historical novel set in late-14th century London."I am sister to the day and night. I am sister to the woods." Sister Clarisse,...Read More
Publication Date: Sep 2004
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
Paperback  Paperback  
In 1399 London, with Richard II on the throne of England, Sister Clarice, a member of the convent at Clerkenwell, experiences a series of visions about a dark and dangerous...Read More
Publication Date: Nov 2005
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 1 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
 
Paperback  Paperback  
Heinrich Obermann, a celebrated German archaeologist, has uncovered the ancient ruins of Troy on a Turkish hillside. He fervently believes that his discovery will prove that the heroes of the...Read More
Publication Date: Nov 2008
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
Hardcover  Hardcover  
No description available.
Publication Date: Sep 2003
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
 
Paperback  Paperback  
Acclaimed biographer Peter Ackroyd vibrantly resurrects the legendary epic of Camelot in this modern adaptation The names of Arthur, Merlin, Lancelot, Guinevere, Galahad, the sword of Excalibur, and the...Read More
Publication Date: Oct 2012
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
Hardcover  Hardcover  
Acclaimed biographer Peter Ackroyd vibrantly resurrects the legendary epic of Camelot in this modern adaptation. The names of Arthur, Merlin, Lancelot, Guinevere, Galahad, the sword of Excalibur, and the...Read More
Publication Date: Nov 2011
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
 
Paperback  Paperback  
No description available.
Publication Date: Mar 2012
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
Paperback  Paperback  
"A romp for the ages" (Vanity Fair)-now with a graphic cover and deluxe packaging Renowned novelist, historian, and biographer Peter Ackroyd takes on what is arguably the greatest poem in...Read More
Publication Date: Oct 2010
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
 
Paperback  Paperback  
Rich with hilarious episodes, Scriblerus is an ingenious satire of false learning and bad taste that has much to say to the pseudo-intellectual world of today. By taking one ambitious...Read More
Publication Date: Mar 2003
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
Hardcover  Hardcover  
(Book Jacket Status: Jacketed) Charles Dickens's final, unfinished novel is in many ways his most intriguing. A highly atmospheric tale of murder, 'The Mystery of Edwin Drood' foreshadows both the...Read More
Publication Date: Nov 2004
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
 
Hardcover  Hardcover  
A fresh, modern prose retelling captures the vigorous and bawdy spirit of Chaucer's classic Renowned critic, historian, and biographer Peter Ackroyd takes on what is arguably the greatest poem in...Read More
Publication Date: Nov 2009
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
Paperback  Paperback  
Following the success of Robinson Crusoe, Defoe composed a further tale of high adventure at sea. The result was this lesser–known work, an inspired and hugely enjoyable “first–hand” account of...Read More
Publication Date: Mar 2003
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
 
Paperback  Paperback  
First Light begins with an ominous coincidence: the reappearance of the ancient night sky during the excavation of an astronomically aligned Neolithic grave in Dorset. A group of eccentrics —...Read More
Publication Date: Sep 1996
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
Hardcover  Hardcover  
No description available.
Publication Date: Feb 2000
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
 
Paperback  Paperback  
Publication Date: Jan 1989
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
Paperback  Paperback  
Publication Date: Apr 1991
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
 
Paperback  Paperback  
Publication Date: Jul 1994
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
Hardcover  Hardcover  
Publication Date: May 1995
Rate 1 Star Rate 2 Stars Rate 3 Stars Rate 4 Stars Rate 5 Stars Members' Rating is 0 Stars - Click to Rate This Book
 
38 Books searching for "Peter Ackroyd" : 1 - 30 displayed
Keyword:
Sort:
Genre:



 ?
Published